Mario Marchand

Mario graduated with a degree in actuarial sciences from Laval University. He has over 30 years of experience in the retirement field. Since May 2013, Mario has been a partner of Aon Hewitt’s retirement and investment practice in Québec, where he acts as an advisor regarding the application of the Supplemental Pension Plans Act.

Prior to joining Aon Hewitt, Mario worked for over 25 years at the Régie des rentes du Québec, where he was one of the main architects of legislative and regulatory changes defining the operational framework for pension plans in Québec. In particular, he helped develop funding relief measures to mitigate the impacts of the 2008–2009 financial crisis on pension plans under the Supplemental Pension Plans Act.

From 2001 to 2013, Mario acted as official representative of the Régie des rentes du Québec within the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA), serving as chair of CAPSA (2009–2011) and vice-chair (2001–2009 and 2011–2013). He was also chair of the CAPSA committee in charge of developing the new Agreement Respecting Multi-jurisdictional Pension Plans, which is now in force in Ontario and Québec.

Over the years, Mario has been invited to speak at various events, notably those sponsored by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and the Canadian Pension & Benefits Institute.

Mario Marchand

Mario a obtenu un baccalauréat en actuariat de l’université Laval. Il compte plus de 30 années d’expérience dans le domaine de la retraite. Depuis mai 2013, Mario est associé au sein de la firme Aon Hewitt dans le secteur de la retraite et des placements au Québec, où il agit à titre de conseiller concernant l’application de la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

Avant de joindre les rangs d’Aon Hewitt, Mario a œuvré plus de 25 ans pour le compte de la Régie des rentes du Québec où il était l’un des principaux architectes des modifications législatives et réglementaires qui définissent le cadre opérationnel des régimes de retraite au Québec. Plus particulièrement, il a aidé à élaborer des mesures d’allègement de la capitalisation afin d’atténuer les impacts de la crise financière de 2008–2009 sur les régimes de retraite assujettis à la Loi sur les régimes complémentaires de retraite.

De 2001 à 2013, Mario a agi à titre de représentant officiel de la Régie des rentes du Québec auprès de l’Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR); il en a assuré la présidence de 2009 à 2011, et la vice-présidence de 2001 à 2009 et de 2011 à 2013. Il a également présidé le comité de l’ACOR chargé d’élaborer la nouvelle Entente sur les régimes de retraite relevant de plus d’une autorité gouvernementale, qui est maintenant en vigueur en Ontario et au Québec.

Au fil des ans, Mario a été invité à prononcer une allocution dans le cadre de plusieurs événements, notamment ceux de l’Institut canadien des actuaires et de l’Institut canadien de la retraite et des avantages sociaux.