Tony Williams, BSc (Hons), FCIA, FSA

Tony Williams, president of PBI Actuarial Consultants, has more than 34 years of pension, investment, and benefits industry experience. He has provided consulting advice to many prominent organizations in the private and public sectors across Canada, and specializes in actuarial and investment consulting for retirement plans and trust funds, including plan funding, governance, investment policy development, risk modelling, implementation of investment management structures, and fund monitoring.

President of PBI since its formation in 2008, he previously spent five years as retirement practice leader for Western Canada at Watson Wyatt Worldwide. From 1984 to 2003 he held senior actuarial consulting and management positions at international human resource consulting firms in their Calgary and Toronto offices, and from 1977 to 1984 he worked in Winnipeg for a life insurance company and a regional actuarial consulting firm.

A Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) and Society of Actuaries, he is also a member of the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans (IFEBP) and the CIA’s Pension Advisory Task Force, and a former chair of the Institute’s Committee on Investment Practice. He has been an instructor on pension and investment issues for the IFEBP and the Shareholder Association for Research and Education, and is a frequent speaker at industry events.

Tony Williams, B.Sc. (avec distinction), FICA, FSA

Tony Williams, président de PBI Conseillers en Actuariat possède plus de 34 ans d’expérience dans le domaine des régimes de retraite, des placements et des avantages sociaux. Il fournit ses services de consultation à de nombreuses organisations importantes des secteurs privé et public au Canada. Ses champs de spécialisation comprennent la consultation en actuariat et en placements, en ce qui a trait aux caisses de retraite et aux autres fonds fiduciaires, notamment la capitalisation des fonds, la gouvernance, l’élaboration de politiques en matière de placements, la modélisation du risque, la mise en place de structures pour les gestionnaires de placements et la surveillance des fonds.

M. Williams est président de PBI depuis la création de l’entreprise en 2008, et il a auparavant rempli les fonctions de chef de la pratique Retraite, Ouest du Canada, auprès de Watson Wyatt Worldwide pendant cinq ans. Entre 1984 et 2003, il a occupé des postes de niveau supérieur à titre d’actuaire-conseil et de gestionnaire au sein de firmes internationales de consultation en ressources humaines, aux bureaux de Calgary et de Toronto. De 1977 à 1984, il a travaillé à Winnipeg pour une société d’assurance et une firme régionale d’actuaires-conseils.

M. Williams est Fellow de l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) et de la Society of Actuaries. Il est également membre de l’International Foundation of Employee Benefits Plan (IFEBP) et du Groupe de travail consultatif sur les régimes de retraite de l’ICA. Il occupait au préalable les fonctions de président de la Commission de pratique d’investissement de l’Institut. Il a donné des cours de formation sur les enjeux présents dans les domaines des placements et des régimes de retraite pour l’IFEBP et la Shareholder Association for Research and Education. Il prononce fréquemment des conférences à des événements de l’industrie.