About the ASB | Actuarial Standards Board
Français
Links Contacts Help Site Map

Relationships

Actuarial Standards Oversight Council

The Actuarial Standards Oversight Council (ASOC) was established in 2007 by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) as an independent body to serve the public interest by overseeing and providing input to the activities of the Actuarial Standards Board (ASB) which establishes actuarial Standards of Practice. The ASOC is composed of seasoned professionals and business people with experience in the financial sector.

Key Responsibilities:

 

Canadian Institute of Actuaries

The Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) is the national organization of the actuarial profession. The CIA, in carrying on its activities and programs, holds the duty of the profession to the public above the needs of the profession and its members. It is an advocate for the profession with governments and the public in the development of public policy. It is self-regulating and enforces a Code of Conduct.

Key Responsibilities:

 

Practice Council (PC)

The PC is a body established within the CIA that is responsible for directing and managing the development of all practice-related material other than Standards of Practice (e.g., educational notes, research papers, etc.), in all areas of actuarial practice in Canada. The PC coordinates the development of its material with the ASB which oversees the development of actuarial Standards of Practice.

 

Committee on Professional Conduct (CPC)

The CPC is a committee established within the CIA that handles all disciplinary matters concerning the CIA’s Members, Associates and Affiliates and to provide them with counselling and education concerning disciplinary matters. Any inquiries regarding the conduct of an actuary shall ultimately be referred to the CPC through the Executive Director of the CIA.

 

Pension and Insurance Regulators (Federal and Provincial)

While the profession is self-regulating, a number of provincial and federal Acts require certain documents to be approved by FCIAs. When legislation changes, often the profession’s Standards of Practice need to change as well. The regulators often depend on the actuarial profession to adapt its standards, in that the regulations themselves are not specific on actuarial matters. Canada’s actuaries are also involved in advocating legislative change to governments in response to demographic or business necessities.

À propos du CNA| Conseil des normes actuarielles
English
Liens Pour nous joindre Aide Plan du site

Rapports entre organismes

Conseil de surveillance des normes actuarielles

Le Conseil de surveillance des normes actuarielles (CSNA) a été constitué en 2007 par l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) en tant qu’organisme indépendant pour servir les intérêts du public en encadrant et en formulant des suggestions par rapport aux activités du Conseil des normes actuarielles qui établi les Normes de pratique actuarielle. Le CSNA est composé de professionnels et de gens d’affaires expérimentés du secteur financier.

Responsabilités clés:

Institut canadien des actuaires

L’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) est l’organisme national de la profession actuarielle. Dans l’exercice de ses activités et programmes, l’ICA considère son devoir envers le public plus important que les besoins de la profession et de ses membres. Il défend les intérêts de la profession auprès des gouvernements et du public en ce qui a trait à l’élaboration de ses politiques publiques. Il s’autoréglemente et veille à l’application d’un code de déontologie.

Responsabilités clés:

Direction de la pratique actuarielle (DPA)

La DPA, une entité de l’ICA, est chargée de diriger et de gérer l’élaboration de documents relatifs à la pratique autres que les normes de pratique (p.ex. les notes éducatives, les documents de recherche, etc.), dans tous les domaines de la pratique actuarielle. La DPA coordonne l’élaboration de tous ces documents en collaboration avec le CNA, qui est chargé de superviser l’élaboration de normes de pratique actuarielles.

Commission de déontologie (CD)

La CD est une commission de l’ICA qui traite de toutes les questions de discipline à l'égard des membres, associés et affiliés de l’ICA. Elle se charge également de prodiguer des conseils et de la formation en matière de discipline. Ultimement, toute question concernant la conduite d’un actuaire devrait être acheminée à la CD par le truchement du directeur général de l’ICA.

Organismes de réglementation en matière de pensions et d’assurances (fédéral et provinciaux)

Bien que la profession soit autoréglementée, certaines lois provinciales et fédérales exigent que certains documents soient approuvés par un FICA. Lorsque la législation change, on doit fréquemment apporter des changements aux normes de pratique de la profession. Les actuaires du Canada sont également impliqués dans la défense de changements législatifs pour répondre aux pressions démographiques ou aux impératifs d’entreprise.